Category Archives: CD

He Leans On The Hood Telling Racin’ Stories

One of the mysteries of having a record collection for a number of years is where do some of the records disappear to???

I bought this on vinyl in the early 80s (shortly after discovering Springsteen thanks to “The River”) and immediately fell in love with the story telling in his lyrics – here they were so much more expansive than in his (then) later work.

So what happened to the vinyl?

Well it disappeared somewhere and recently I reintroduced this into my collection, this time on CD. The tracks all still work for me and, on a personal level, remind me of my late teens when the only real worry I had was ‘do I have enough beer money?’


Bruce Springsteen – Greetings from Asbury Park, N.J. (1973) – CD

  • Blinded by the Light
  • Growin’ Up
  • Mary Queen of Arkansas
  • Does This Bus Stop at 82nd Street?
  • Lost in the Flood
  • The Angel
  • For You
  • Spirit in the Night
  • It’s Hard to Be a Saint in the City

Rate – 4/5

Listening Since Day One

CDs – 37, Vinyl Singles – 17, LPs – 20, Downloads – 5, Cassettes – 1

Total Tracks: 855, Time: 62h 57m 38s 

A Wild Nobility

At the time the diversity of music available through mainstream media didn’t strike me as anything special.  But now, looking at the mediocrity of what’s generally available and the splintering of music into niche radio/tv/online channels (which become a self fulfilling prophecy as users never discover new genres), I realise how lucky I was to be around in the late 70s/early 80s.

For me this CD makes the point – out of nowhere you had Adam and the Ants ripping apart the charts with tribal, duel drummer driven music. Nowadays I can use the internet and immediately find out that this is based on Burundi beat but all those years ago it was just fresh and exciting. And it still stands up now – when “Kings of the Wild Frontier” steps up a gear at 1m53s I still get goose bumps some 36 years after I first heard it.

Eventually Adam began to believe his own hype (playing Vive Le Rock at Live Aid – shameful) and slowly disappeared from the music scene, but now he’s back touring this very album – a key concert for me to catch this year.

Every music lover should have a copy of this and listen to it on a regular basis…..

 Adam and the Ants – Kings of the Wild Frontier (1980) CD – 2004 Release

  • Dog Eat Dog
  • Antmusic
  • Feed Me to the Lions
  • Los Rancheros
  • Ants Invasion
  • Killer in the Home
  • Kings of the Wild Frontier
  • The Magnificent Five
  • Don’t Be Square (Be There)
  • Jolly Roger
  • Making History
  • The Human Beings
  • Antmusic (Alternative Mix)
  • Antmusic (Demo)
  • Feed Me to the Lions
  • The Human Beings (Demo)
  • S.E.X. (Demo)
  • Omelette from Outerspace (Demo)

Rate – 5/5

Listening Since Day One

CDs – 36, Vinyl Singles – 17, LPs – 19, Downloads – 5, Cassettes – 1

Total Tracks: 800, Time: 60h 04m 23s 

Kind Of Blue

So is it a good thing that I’ve started to move down the Jazz route or is this a journey that I won’t return from……………

Well, whatever happens I might as well enjoy the ride.

Following on from discovering Bitches Brew last month I decided to move back in time to 1959 and picked up Kind of Blue by Miles Davis. This is a classic and understandably so, the music here is the epitome of sitting in a club as witching hour kicks in whilst nursing a singe malt.

Help! I feel a pretentious personality descending upon me – if I you ever hear me start saying things like “it’s the notes you don’t play” please try and save me…………

 Miles Davis – Kind Of Blue (1959) CD – 1997 Release

  • So What
  • Freddie Freeloader
  • Blue in Green
  • All Blues
  • Flamenco Sketches
  • Flamenco Sketches (Alternate Take)

Rate – 4/5

Listening Since Day One

CDs – 35, Vinyl Singles – 17, LPs – 19, Downloads – 5, Cassettes – 1

Total Tracks: 782, Time: 59h 03m 06s 

My Heart’s In The Basement

Whilst Lemmy’s death had, to a certain extent, been foretold by his frail figure and health issues throughout 2015, Bowie passing away was a complete and utter shock. Away from the hastily cobbled together tribute shows I went through my collection and decided to play a number of sessions he’d record more than 40 years previously. I’d followed his career through all its phases but for me the essence of the man was always in the poetry of his words, from the naïve to the profound.

And so it was a young Bowie that I listened to, one who still had the death of Ziggy, the Berlin years, 80s mainstream, Tin Machine, rejuvenation and the role of musical statesman ahead of him. Recorded between 1968 and 1972 for the BBC this was the core of everything he became and everything he’s left behind.

And then I followed this up with the bonus disc for this release – a live session recorded for the BBC in 2000.

I saw Bowie play live a long time ago, I was hoping to see him again…………

David Bowie – Bowie At The Beeb (2000) 2CD

  • In the Heat of the Morning
  • London Bye Ta Ta
  • Karma Man
  • Silly Boy Blue
  • Let Me Sleep Beside You
  • Janine
  • Amsterdam
  • God Knows I’m Good
  • The Width of a Circle
  • Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed
  • Cygnet Committee
  • Memory of a Free Festival
  • Wild Eyed Boy from Freecloud
  • Bombers
  • Looking for a Friend
  • Almost Grown
  • Kooks
  • It Ain’t Easy
  • The Supermen
  • Eight Line Poem
  • Hang On to Yourself
  • Ziggy Stardust
  • Queen Bitch
  • I’m Waiting for the Man
  • Five Years
  • White Light/White Heat
  • Moonage Daydream
  • Hang On to Yourself
  • Suffragette City
  • Ziggy Stardust
  • Starman
  • Space Oddity
  • Changes
  • Oh! You Pretty Things
  • Andy Warhol
  • Lady Stardust
  • Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide

David Bowie – BBC Radio Theatre, 27 June 2000 (2000) CD

  • Wild Is the Wind
  • Ashes to Ashes
  • Seven
  • This Is Not America
  • Absolute Beginners
  • Always Crashing in the Same Car
  • Survive
  • Little Wonder
  • The Man Who Sold the World
  • Fame
  • Stay
  • Hallo Spaceboy
  • Cracked Actor
  • I’m Afraid of Americans
  • Let’s Dance

Rate – 5/5

Listening Since Day One

CDs – 34, Vinyl Singles – 17, LPs – 19, Downloads – 5, Cassettes – 1

Total Tracks: 776, Time: 58h 07m 39s

I Don’t Want To Live Forever…..

And so the day has come, we knew it would but it’s just sooner than anyone wanted….

Lemmy has gone to the great gig in the sky after living the rock star life to the full. Played this nice and loud when I got home this evening. A classic live album!

Motörhead – No Sleep ’til Hammersmith (1981) – 2001 CD

Original Album

  • Ace of Spades
  • Stay Clean
  • Metropolis
  • The Hammer
  • Iron Horse/Born to Lose
  • No Class
  • Overkill
  • (We Are) the Road Crew
  • Capricorn
  • Bomber
  • Motorhead


  • Over The Top (B-side)
  • Shoot You in the Back (previously unreleased)
  • Jailbait (Previously unreleased)
  • Leaving Here (Previously unreleased)
  • Fire, Fire (Previously unreleased)
  • Too Late, Too Late (Previously unreleased)
  • Bite the Bullet/The Chase Is Better than the Catch (Previously unreleased)
  • Ace of Spades (alternate)
  • Stay Clean (alternate)
  • Metropolis (alternate)
  • The Hammer (alternate)
  • Capricorn (alternate)
  • No Class (alternate)
  • (We Are) the Road Crew (alternate)
  • Bite the Bullet/The Chase Is Better than the Catch (alternate)
  • Overkill (alternate)
  • Bomber (alternate)
  • Motorhead (alternate)

Rate – 5/5

Listening Since Day One

CDs – 31, Vinyl Singles – 17, LPs – 19, Downloads – 5, Cassettes – 1

Total Tracks: 724, Time: 54h 32m 08s