It’s Possible To Be Too Faithful……

My love for cover versions comes from when the artist brings something new to the song – be it interpretation, emotion, arrangement, whatever. The fact that they can take something that I already know and make it their own in some way, that I respect and it sometimes helps to give me a better insight into the original.

  • Watching The Alarm play “Pinball Wizard” in the 80s, starting as a single guitar acoustic version before exploding into life.
  • Listening to The Flying Lizards and trying to work out how they got the inspiration behind their interpretation of “Money”.
  • Hearing the emotion Fifth Avenue poured into “If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)” as they played it in tribute to Bon Scott on the day we all found out he’d died.

All of these (and many, many more) can be classed as good things.

But then there are those artists that cover songs but add nothing to the original, as a result they come over as, at best, a tribute act.

And so to Gov’t Mule and this concert, it was shortly after Rick Wright had passed away and a decision was made to make it a night of Pink Floyd covers. But whilst the songs, recording and musicianship are all first rate they come over like a professional covers band – there’s no real ownership and no adaptation of the music (there is a good sax solo on side four though). They stick too close to the originals and most of the time it was playing I was thinking “Why don’t I just put on a proper Pink Floyd concert………..”

I always knew that there was a risk in buying this but I was hoping that they would take the music and do something unexpected  as per The Flying Lizards…………….

Gov’t Mule – Dark Side Of The Mule – Double Vinyl (2014)

    • One Of These Days
    • Fearless
    • Pigs On The Wing Pt. 2
    • Comfortably Numb
    • Shine On You Crazy Diamond Pts. 1-5
    • Have A Cigar
    • Breathe (In The Air)
    • Time
    • The Great Gig In The Sky
    • Money
    • Shine On You Crazy Diamond Pts. 6-9
    • Wish You Were Here

Rate – 2/5

Listening Since Day One

CDs – 14, Vinyl Singles – 13, LPs – 8, Downloads – 5, Total Tracks: 282, Time: 20h 58m 45s