My Heart’s In The Basement

Whilst Lemmy’s death had, to a certain extent, been foretold by his frail figure and health issues throughout 2015, Bowie passing away was a complete and utter shock. Away from the hastily cobbled together tribute shows I went through my collection and decided to play a number of sessions he’d record more than 40 years previously. I’d followed his career through all its phases but for me the essence of the man was always in the poetry of his words, from the naïve to the profound.

And so it was a young Bowie that I listened to, one who still had the death of Ziggy, the Berlin years, 80s mainstream, Tin Machine, rejuvenation and the role of musical statesman ahead of him. Recorded between 1968 and 1972 for the BBC this was the core of everything he became and everything he’s left behind.

And then I followed this up with the bonus disc for this release – a live session recorded for the BBC in 2000.

I saw Bowie play live a long time ago, I was hoping to see him again…………

David Bowie – Bowie At The Beeb (2000) 2CD

  • In the Heat of the Morning
  • London Bye Ta Ta
  • Karma Man
  • Silly Boy Blue
  • Let Me Sleep Beside You
  • Janine
  • Amsterdam
  • God Knows I’m Good
  • The Width of a Circle
  • Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed
  • Cygnet Committee
  • Memory of a Free Festival
  • Wild Eyed Boy from Freecloud
  • Bombers
  • Looking for a Friend
  • Almost Grown
  • Kooks
  • It Ain’t Easy
  • The Supermen
  • Eight Line Poem
  • Hang On to Yourself
  • Ziggy Stardust
  • Queen Bitch
  • I’m Waiting for the Man
  • Five Years
  • White Light/White Heat
  • Moonage Daydream
  • Hang On to Yourself
  • Suffragette City
  • Ziggy Stardust
  • Starman
  • Space Oddity
  • Changes
  • Oh! You Pretty Things
  • Andy Warhol
  • Lady Stardust
  • Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide

David Bowie – BBC Radio Theatre, 27 June 2000 (2000) CD

  • Wild Is the Wind
  • Ashes to Ashes
  • Seven
  • This Is Not America
  • Absolute Beginners
  • Always Crashing in the Same Car
  • Survive
  • Little Wonder
  • The Man Who Sold the World
  • Fame
  • Stay
  • Hallo Spaceboy
  • Cracked Actor
  • I’m Afraid of Americans
  • Let’s Dance

Rate – 5/5

Listening Since Day One

CDs – 34, Vinyl Singles – 17, LPs – 19, Downloads – 5, Cassettes – 1

Total Tracks: 776, Time: 58h 07m 39s